Make 2023: The Year Of Networking With Real Devs :)

Make 2023: The Year Of Networking With Real Devs :)

ยท

5 min read


You know what, 2023 just started with a boom of AI and recession:)

As an aspiring developer, I can say this year will be my year of learning new tech stacks, meeting new people in tech, and making tons of projects.

Well, when I say about meeting new peoples in tech; I mean to say all those who are in tech. Whether they are college students, working professionals, or tech startup founders, I tend to meet these inspiring people very often.

They are the real people who know the real value of technology. They know about market trends and demands. So, meeting these people keeps me connected to the developer community. And in the last month of 2022, I did the same.

I attended 1 hackathon (unfortunately, I failed in it), 2 devfests, and 4-5 offline community meetups. And the learnings and swags I received there are just un-imaginable.

A Glimpse to my swags ๐Ÿฅณ

No alt text provided for this image

No alt text provided for this image

Benefits I got from networking

I got tons of swags. But that's not it, I also made sure to connect with these people on LinkedIn, Twitter, and other social media platforms. And through these connections, I was able to learn about new job opportunities, get advice on my projects, and even collaborate on new projects with other developers.

Networking with other developers is not just about getting a job or a project, it's also about learning from others.

As a developer, you will always encounter challenges that you may not know how to solve on your own. By networking with other developers, you can get help and advice from people who have already faced similar challenges.

Learnings

To be honest, I learned a hell lot of things. But one of the biggest learnings are:

  1. I gained from networking with other developers is the importance of continuous learning.

The tech industry is constantly evolving and it's important to stay updated with the latest technologies and trends.

Through networking, I was able to learn about new and upcoming technologies that I may not have known about otherwise.

  1. Another learning was the importance of collaboration. As a developer, it's easy to get caught up in your own work and not see the bigger picture. But by collaborating with other developers, I was able to see different perspectives and approach problems in a new way. This not only helped me improve my own skills but also helped me to deliver better results.

  2. Networking also helped me to get a better understanding of the industry. By talking to developers who were working in different roles and in different companies, I was able to get a better understanding of the different career paths available to me and the skills that were in demand.

  3. Lastly, I learned that networking is not just about getting something out of it, but also about giving back. It's important to share your knowledge and experience with others and help them grow as well. I plan to continue to give back to the developer community by mentoring and sharing my knowledge with others.

But why you should network?

Well, lemme give you mine example. Attending devfests and other events not only allowed me to network with other developers, but also gave me the opportunity to learn from professionals in different fields.

At the devfests, I had the pleasure of meeting Ansh Mehra, a UI/UX designer, who shared his insights on the importance of user experience in the development process.

Image preview

I also had the opportunity to meet several startup founders, like Arpan Garg, who shared their experiences in building and scaling their company. It was inspiring to hear about their journey and the challenges they faced along the way.

Additionally, I met content creators like Yash Garg and Saumya Singh, who shared their strategies for creating and promoting engaging content.

Image preview

Image preview

Learning about these different fields helped me to understand the bigger picture and how my role as a developer fits into it. It also helped me to see the potential for collaboration and how my skills can be applied in different contexts.

Life - Experiences

One of the most memorable experiences at the devfests and hackathons I attended was participating in the hackathon, even though I failed in it. It was intense, but also a lot of fun working with a team of developers to come up with creative solutions to the challenge at hand.

No alt text provided for this image

Food ๐Ÿ˜‹ also served as a great way to socialize and bond with my team members and other participants. We would take a break from coding to grab a bite and share our progress on the project and discuss new ideas. It also helped to break the monotony of sitting in front of a computer for hours.

Not only that, but the organizers also made sure that there was an adequate supply of snacks and drinks throughout the event to keep the participants going. I remember getting a caffeine boost from the coffee and energy drinks provided, which helped me to stay focused and energized during the hackathon.

No alt text provided for this image

An added fun element to the hackathon experience was shooting a reel of my team's journey at the hackathon. I never thought that it would become viral but to my surprise, it did and it was exciting to see our hard work and effort being recognized and appreciated.

Link to my reel: https://www.instagram.com/p/CkmScVuPwrU/

No alt text provided for this image

I may not have won the hackathon, but I definitely won the experience and an opportunity to learn from my failure.

Conclusion

In 2023, I plan to take my networking to the next level. I will attend more events, connect with more people online, and even start my own community meetup. I believe that by making these connections, I will be able to learn more, grow as a developer, and make a positive impact on the developer community.

I encourage all aspiring developers to do the same. Make 2023 the year of networking with real developers. Attend hackathons, devfests, and community meetups. Connect with other developers online. And most importantly, don't be afraid to reach out and ask for help or advice. Together, we can make the developer community stronger and more supportive.

No alt text provided for this image

ย